Delightfully Ordinary

untitled

I had a delightfully ordinary day today.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but my day went something like this…

wake up in my own bed

take the dogs for a stroll around the pond

make coffee

work in the shop till early afternoon

make pizza dough

take the dogs for a long run up one of the local mountains

stop by the store

work ’til early evening

make pizza

enjoy pizza

stop feeling sorry for myself.

*************************************

i know, sorry…maybe that was too many details.  but, the point here is my day was nothing but ordinary, and it was truly delightful.  i am also trying to make a point of preparing myself meals while being home…and being without PB.  cooking just does not have nearly the same excitement eating alone as when you are sharing it with others. one of the things i am missing the most about not being in the methow valley this summer is being unable to cook for my favorite firefighters and friends.  i don’t mean to brag, but we can throw a pretty mean dinner party; and purely because i glean an incredible amount of satisfaction from feeding and sharing delicious food with the people i love.  well, my theory of wether or not i would be just as satisfied eating a good meal by myself proved to be true.  enjoy the following food journey.  i hope it makes you smile, because I sure enjoyed it!

************************************

untitled-4 untitled-5 untitled-6


untitled-3

untitled-7 untitled-8 untitled-9 untitled-11 untitled-12 untitled-13

2 thoughts on “Delightfully Ordinary

  1. Looks fabulous!! What all did you put on there? I just found your blog through Filson’s IG. Love. It. I have little crushes on your dogs too. We had to put our beloved down last summer. He wore the same bright orange collar so it makes me smile to see them. 🙂

    Your photos are amazing. I shoot in nowhere near as cool places as you do. I have so many questions about your camera, lens(es) and processing. But first, a quick question: do you use a tripod? Self timer? How are you getting all these great, focused shots with you in them? This is something I can never get right!

    • Yay!! So glad you found me!! So sorry to hear about your dog, these two are constant sources of light in my life…so crush away! Love all the questions and will try to answer them as best as possible. This last series of photos was shot on a canon 60D with a 50mm lens. I use the self timer to get myself in photos. I will pick an object to focus on, for the one of me holding the dough it happened to be the door handle on the fridge, which is out of the frame and then I step in and click..not very scientific, but it works! I will sometimes use a remote, but not very often as I think it’s harder to get an accurate focus. I edit all my photos in Lightroom 5 and don’t do much processing other than usually tweaking clarity, highlights, vibrance and contrast. I also shoot on a 35mm lens, which is what all the photos from my trip through the southwest were shot on. Oh, and yes… I do use a tripod to get all the self portraits. I’m gonna have to head over to your world for a visit!! Please let me know if you have any more questions!!

Leave a Reply

