My heart might explode with gratitude for this world’s beauty

I almost couldn’t stand it. The other evening I went out to be a part of the day’s end and as usual stayed out way later than expected.  Winter’s breath left us quite a few weeks ago, and here spring has slowly and tenderly wrapped its tendrils around every nook and cranny I lay my eyes upon.  Winter always leaves with great sorrow for me, as there is nothing I love more than bundling up, cinching bindings, putting skis to the trail and setting out into the white forested garden of Idaho’s backcountry.  The dichotomy of winter’s harsh environment shadowed against the raw and pure beauty of white cloaked peaks is enough to make my heart burst into a million tiny beginnings.  Oh man, all this talk of winter really has me wishing the snow would hold tight and offer a few more high mountain climbs.  Alas, the early eves of white, have transitioned to the gloriously long days of cotyledon greens and buttercup yellows.  I didn’t realize just how much my heart was aching for a landscape painted with new day colors straight from a Kandisnky canvas.

I hope these longer days of transition are finding you well, I know they’ve really re-ignited my yearning for adventure…

Happy spring, chickadees. xx

IMG_5870 IMG_5872 IMG_5882 IMG_5884 IMG_5890 IMG_5894 IMG_5900 IMG_5901 IMG_5905 IMG_5912 IMG_5918 IMG_5923 IMG_5927 IMG_5929 IMG_5930 IMG_5933 IMG_5934 IMG_5944 IMG_5945 IMG_5949 IMG_5953 IMG_5955 IMG_5957 IMG_5965 IMG_5966 IMG_5971 IMG_5978 IMG_5980

Isn’t this wild world of ours so magnificent?!

5 thoughts on “My heart might explode with gratitude for this world’s beauty

  1. We have such a short winter here in the desert and like you, I hated to let go of it. But now that it’s spring, the breeze is warm, (allergies!!), the plants are growing, I wouldn’t change it for the world. In fact, it’s that change of seasons….the feeling it brings….that I look forward to most.
    You’ve captured some beautiful shots of early spring in Idaho. Enjoy that weather and dream of summer!

  2. uh….don’t look now, but there’s something living on your shoelaces.
    which, by the way, i see, are tied “double” like a child’s. i tie mine the same.

    xo

  3. Hannah,
    I love what you captured through the lens!
    Your photos have me yearning to find my own beauty! ;o)
    Thank You for the inspiration!
    BTW, what is your Red Dog’s name?

    Have a great day!
    Kris in WA

  4. I just discovered your blog and love your beautifully written words and photographs. I so relate to your love of the land and look forward to reading more:) xo, Andi

Leave a Reply

