The Time In-between

Yikes, I can not believe how whirlwind these past few weeks have been.  Between filling orders, stocking shops in town, finishing up custom projects, developing a new website (still in the works!) and packing up our house, I was pleasantly surprised as I was going back through old photos, at just how much fun I got to have in the ‘in-between time’.  For those of us who are just meeting, this time of the year allows me to release a sigh of incredible relief and thankfulness.  My husband, brother, sister-in-law and majority of our best friends are wildland firefighters, and they are all finally home safe and bright spirited.  Summer is their busy season, which means a lot of alone time for me.  While I thrive best hermit style, I am left with quite a void in my life when they are absent.  I am not a worrier by nature, but there is this ever-present tension in the air when they are gone on fire assignments.  A knowledge that mother-nature is wholly unpredictable and ever-wild, helps me keep reality in perspective.  This season was unfortunately especially difficult, with far too many tragedies and losses.  My heart aches for every one of you, who were affected by these events.  These people, this tribe of nomads, of selfless individuals who risk their lives for our land and protection, have my utmost respect and admiration.  Their wives, partners, children and families, who stay at home, turn the gears and keep life running smoothly in their absence, I just want you to know how amazing you are.  Bless you all…you all are a true inspiration to me!  Wherever your winter’s take you, I hope they are filled with wild adventures and lots of warmth in the arms of those you love.  Here’s a little peek into a few adventures I got to take with my little fire family, before we moved onto our winter home.

…………….

Grouse hunting with the hubs and the dogs

 ………………..IMG_9612

IMG_9582

IMG_9591

IMG_9594

IMG_9588

IMG_9616 IMG_9608

IMG_9581 IMG_9604 IMG_9602

……………

A high country camping trip with my sister-in-law :: And a really good place to have a campfire and drink coffee

……………

IMG_9688 IMG_9649 IMG_9645IMG_9660 IMG_9640 IMG_9636IMG_9760 IMG_9718 IMG_9695 IMG_9678 IMG_9669IMG_9755 IMG_9752

…………………..

A quiet morning tromp around the woods and an evening to myself while PB was out deer hunting

……………………

IMG_9564 IMG_9565 IMG_9574

IMG_9568 IMG_9556 IMG_9555

…………………..

A float down the Methow River with the hubs and my father-in-law

………………..

IMG_9784

IMG_9800 IMG_9806 IMG_9807

IMG_9809 IMG_9820 IMG_9824 IMG_9848 IMG_9850

Patrick’s birthday is coming up in a few days and I have taken advantage of this time I have alone (he’s out elk hunting right now), to plan our next big adventure.  Shhh…he thinks I am dutifully working in the shop catching up on loads of orders I have to fill…but, all in good time.  Life is all about balance, right?!  Now, off to work peanuts, hope life is treating you well.

XX

2 thoughts on “The Time In-between

  1. great update in pictorial form, I particularly love the larches reflected in the pond. Looking forward to some snow myself.

Leave a Reply

