That Time of Transition

Well, we did it again.  We packed up all our belongings, sorted the necessary from the not.  Dropped house plants off at friends and shared last meals with family and loved ones.  We kissed their children on the noses and asked them to be good to their mothers and fathers.  Said our goodbye’s to the place and the people who make our lives whole and bright.  Boy, do I miss you guys…

Moving always has this pungent bitter-sweet essence for me.  I attach myself deeply to place, reaching out with tendrils, grasping neighboring needle or branch and become one with the rhythm of it all.  I thrive on change, but am driven by habit and routine.  I function best in solitude, but shine deepest in the company of friends and kin.  I have become a nomad…I guess I have always been a nomad.  Picking up and moving from summering to wintering grounds.  Adapting to seasons and environment.  Each move, each new place, each new sense of belonging allows me to grow and nurture this inter-connected web of life I lead.

………………….

We left this with heavy and full hearts

 ………………IMG_9561 IMG_9573IMG_9888

 IMG_9923

IMG_9883 IMG_9916 IMG_9866 IMG_9876IMG_9886

……………..

We arrived here ready to unfurl and root down

……………….

IMG_9944IMG_0018IMG_0039 IMG_0048 IMG_0057 IMG_0064 IMG_0012 IMG_0021 IMG_0031

IMG_0024IMG_9997 IMG_9993 IMG_9991 IMG_9989 IMG_9986 IMG_9981 IMG_9949IMG_9941 IMG_9934 IMG_9931 IMG_0070

………………..

So, here we are…boxes unpacked and countryside explored.  What do you think?  I know this will be so very good, for the both of us.  This place is the perfect combination of Patrick and I.  Open and wild.  Soft and harsh.  Gentle but rough.  Honest yet mysterious.  Seasonal.  Whimsical.  Country.  Quiet and calm.  Yes, very quiet and calm…just the way I like it.  I can’t wait to share more of this place with you.  I hope to have the shop open and running in the next few days, but in the meantime we can connect here.

Happy weekend, you wild pack of beauties.

XX

10 thoughts on “That Time of Transition

  1. un nouveau petit coin de paradis pour toi et ton homme…. des photos magnifiques pour nous présenter ce lieu, merci. On vous souhaite plein de bonheur, de sagesse, de tranquillité, d’émotions et d’inspiration. Take care of you !!!!!!

  2. Glad you’re settling in, safe and sound.
    Out of curiosity, if you love Washington so, and there people there, why do you relocate?

    • I suppose it is the blessing and curse of the nomad….and also being married to a man with a seasonal firefighting job who lives to bird hunt in Idaho in the winter time. 🙂 Washington is a beautiful home for us. We have the deepest roots there, but we have spread our roots so many other places now, that it has made picking up and moving easier…but not easy…you know?! Hope you are well, sweetness. XX

Leave a Reply

