From the Garden

Image

ImageImage

Wowsa, I can’t believe the bounty from my little 10’x15′ garden this summer.  Unbelievable!  I usually go a little bonkers when planning the garden, but this year I decided to scale back a bit…and still, just such a lovely amount of food.  Patrick and I just finished a delicious meal of pozole soup that I started in the crock-pot earlier today.  Such a nourishing and easy soup.  To spruce the basic recipe up a bit, I added a bunch of garden carrots, a patty-pan squash and a few tomatoes.  YuMmm’ers!

After dinner, we tackled a long put off project and ground and made about 30 pounds of pork and duck sausage from our pig we raised last year, and all the duck from hunting season this last winter.  Let me tell you, friends…we now have a lot of sausage.  Come on over for a BBQ, I will roast you up on heck of a weenie! 🙂

Speaking of hot-dogs, I am so excited to be leaving for a few days on a little backcountry trip with a lovely girlfriend and her beautiful dog.  I can’t wait to spend a few days in the mountains, with this woodland beauty.  For my dinner, I decided to bring some of the sausages and a lot of veggies from the garden.  I have to admit, that I am not the most weight conscious person when planning a backpacking trip.  This both works out to my benefit and to my demise.  While I might have the most delicious food and booze on the trip, I also have a case of the achey shoulders and a cricky neck…all worth it, if you ask me though!

 

Hope you are all well, and enjoying these lovely waning days of summer!

XX

9 thoughts on “From the Garden

  1. Your summer waning is the Southern Hemisphere’s gaining! In Australia the last frosts are gone and its time to start planting. I’m itching to move into my new house in a few weeks and get gardening. Your photo of the apples is stunning and I can’t wait till my apples look that good too! Great photos.

    • What a beautiful cycle of food and life, just as mine is ending yours is starting! We too are renters and have been very fortunate to live in houses with established orchards and fruit trees. Wishing you a wonderful gardening season!

  2. I’m still a backpacking newbie & not very weight conscious about it either… I do so love my little woodland pleasures while I’m out there 😉 And I’ve been trying to figure out how not to take any prepackaged foods. Would you be willing to share a backcountry packin’ recipe?

    I hope you have a wonderful time communing in the mountains! Can’t wait to hear about how your trip goes<3

    • Ohh, yes!

      Here’s a pretty typical day as far as eating:

      Breakfast:

      Oatmeal with powdered milk, nuts and dried fruit (or fresh berries as available!)

      Lunch:

      Zucchini bread (pre-made), almonds, cheese

      OR

      tuna fish, wraps, avocado and cheese

      Dinner:

      A hash with beets, carrots, onions, garlic, sausage and cheese

      OR

      Mac-and-cheese (pasta with dried milk, cheese and oil or butter), sauteed veggies (whatever is on hand), sausage and fire grilled portabello mushrooms with diced garlic and melted cheese.

      I tend to mix a little dried or packaged food with a lot of fresh. Hope that inspires you a bit!!

      XX

      • Just now seeing this! Thank you for sharing these great pack recipes. In the past I’ve left fresh veggies off the list, but now that I know they make good outback meals, I will be sure to take them next time. 🙂 Sounds like you girls had a great trip and ate really well up there. The photos are awesome! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

