Saturation

I spent a few days saturating myself with my natural surroundings.  I suppose I am closer to lichen than human, as I knew I needed to head to the forest and the high country to feed from that alpine energy.  A place wild and free.  A place untouched by the hum and drum of daily life.  A raw and natural beauty.  A place I call home.

A wordless description of what re-saturating my spirit looks like.

IMG_6224 IMG_6229 IMG_6231 IMG_6233 IMG_6244 IMG_6248 IMG_6308 IMG_6316 IMG_6317 IMG_6321 IMG_6325 IMG_6335 IMG_6347 IMG_6373 IMG_6382 IMG_6395IMG_6410 IMG_6451 IMG_6450 IMG_6449 IMG_6445 IMG_6442 IMG_6440 IMG_6438 IMG_6432 IMG_6429 IMG_6421I like to travel alone.  I enjoy experiencing the natural world in a private and intimate setting.  I stop often to smell, touch, taste and experience my surroundings.  I lay down on the bed of lichen, and watch the chipmunks frolic in the ponderosa pine tree crowns, a movement of ease and play.  I like to stop and gather the cedar fronds to make bundles for the ride home, an aromatherapy reminder of my little forest life. A knowledge of nearness, and a saturation of being.

I like to fill my rucksack with curiosities, often returning to camp with an evolution of the forests’ natural history.  A cone here, a dangling wolf lichen there, a fallen ruffed grouse feather tucked into my braid, and a handful of newly turned salmon berries for my morning fare.  I liken solitude to an evening spent with a good book up high in the mountains.  I make a place for the giant trees, Orion’s belt, the mountain marmots and my freshly caught trout at my picnic table of fallen log and pine needle seat.  As the sun crests the ridge, and makes its’ journey westward to set, I pile my gathered firewood and create myself heat.  The dogs and I stay close to the energy, sipping whiskey and reciting memorized poetry.  We soothe our souls with the knowledge of reached dreams and wayward visions.

A life never stops being lived.

A love never stops growing.

And growth never stops providing.

I liken myself to a forest.  A spirit shrouded in green, a creature with heart central to life and one with a pulsation of chlorophyll to feed from.  An ability to grow from simplicity :: sun, water and soil.  I liken myself to a forest.

5 thoughts on “Saturation

    • I just simply cannot spend enough time in the forest lately. I suppose after 6 months with no trees in high desert, I am taking a crash course in forest life again! The brown blanket was a thrift store find by my mother-in-law, it’s pretty great huh?! I keep thinking of you and hoping you and your girl are having a lovely summer together. XX

Leave a Reply

