Part Of A Community

I know, we throw these words around like…community, sustainability, green living, green business, environmentally friendly, eco-chic…  But, what does it really mean?  Or, better yet, what value does it have to you?

IMG_5464 IMG_5461

I just returned from a two-day community supported event, where I had a booth and was exhibiting and selling my items.  It was my first big event, and it was SO MUCH FUN!!  It felt so empowering to stand behind my items and say…Howdy, I’m Hannah…I make these!!!  This little valley that we call home in Washington, is a truly special and very magical little community of people and landscape.  It is a place defined not only by wildflower filled hills that gently contour into granite slabs of peaks and year round glaciers loved by mountain climbers and naturalists alike; but also a place loved and worked by generations of ranchers and cowboys that can point you in the direction of that hidden lake that nobody knows about, just as easily as they can rope a calf, brand ’em and send ’em on their way.

I love it here, I really do.  I love it for so many reasons.  But, you know what I mainly love it for?  I love it that I can come back here after being gone for six months and know that I have a steadfast family of friends and loved ones that share a life lived for the land and each other.  A real community of people that supports one another for who we are.

I learned so much this weekend; about myself and about running a small business.  I hugged and laughed and cried with my people from every facet of my myriad of lives.  I met so many new and wonderful people who I got to barter, trade and negotiate with.  I had two mom’s to share Mother’s Day with.  I was overwhelmed by the support and love offered by my fire family.  I was taken aback by the compliments and encouragement given by strangers, whom I now welcome into my life as friends.  I just felt so alive.  I felt so loved.  I enjoyed being overjoyed.

This is what it is like to be a part of a community.

It. Feels. So. Good.

IMG_5498 IMG_5497 IMG_5492 IMG_5486

8 thoughts on “Part Of A Community

  1. Your post made me cry out of love and the fact that you recognize and appreciate the Methow Valley and it’s wonderful people (those who have lived here their whole life -Claude, Kit, Tyler, visitors, family, friends and coworkers). We all love you and are so happy you love it here. It was so much fun and enjoyabe to visit with your mom and Daniel and see how much they love seeing you happy! Yay to Kat for building a beautiful home in a beautiful place for you to peacefully enjoy creating your work, grandpuppies to play and to ride your bike to our place for Mother’s Day dinner. Dry was so happy you rode him!!! When Alyssa came home today he was running up and down the fence hoping to be ridden again! Love you lots (PB left his sunglasses here in case you were looking!)

    • We couldn’t ask to be in a better spot…or to have better neighbors! We love being so close to you guys and just love being back here with our family…and all our extended family of friends. Tell Dry I will be back very soon to ride him again! XX

Leave a Reply

