Over The Hill To Grandmother’s House We Go

No really, we do!  PB was working late last night and I had spent all day in the shop, so when the day started to shift towards its end, I decided to get out the bicycle and head over the hill to visit my in-law’s.  With the grand-puppies in tow I headed out to be a part of that magical evening mountain light that blesses these woods that I now call home.  A bike ride that should have taken me a mere 30 minutes, took me, well…a little bit longer!

IMG_5375 IMG_5369Do you ever think to yourself…this may be the most beautiful moment I have ever been a part of?  I thought that over and over and over again last night on my bike ride, reciting to myself, what a simply gorgeous evening this is.  I stopped to smell, to touch, to listen and to simply be a part of all these little happenings of forest life.  I noticed how the white service berry blooms absorb the light, but the green leaves refract it creating a million glittering reminders of just how magical light really is.  I became aware of how thickly this little pine tree forest sends its pollen out into the air to ensure fertilization and longevity.  I was reminded of how last summer on our wedding day I looked up canyon and watched a wave of pollen drape the valley creating a yellow blanket of life.

All of this,

always happening,

all the time,

all around us.

I likened the pollen to fairy dust as I stopped to take a few photos with the dogs.  The air was thick with the heat of the day and the pollen hung heavy creating particles of movement and light.  The dogs and I, mere visitors in this world that functions just fine without us.  I like to be reminded of how small I am in this world of nature, but how big of a difference I can make albeit my smallness.

IMG_5401 IMG_5400 IMG_5394The grand-puppies and I never made it over the hill all the way to grandmother’s house.  I got that phone call from the hubs mid-way through making alternate plans…  Summer has started peanuts, I know…it is too early, you say…winter has just ended.  I just have a feeling that this is going to be a long summer, but I feel better equipped to be a fire wife this summer.  Something has grown stronger inside of me.  Something tells me this summer has something extraordinary in tow for me.  I can feel it starshine’s, and I say let it shine on down!

My adventure has already begun…and I know this path leads me somewhere very magical.

IMG_5393 IMG_5383 IMG_5429

PS- I promise I have been busy as a bee, working very very hard!  I am outrageously excited and over the moon nervous for my first art fair event this weekend.  I will be displaying my work at one of the biggest events that takes place in my little valley…I can not wait to tell you all about it!!

XX, buttercups

8 thoughts on “Over The Hill To Grandmother’s House We Go

  1. *sigh* There is such goodness here. “I like to be reminded of how small I am in this world of nature, but how big of a difference I can make albeit my smallness.” You took the words right out of my mouth woman. Sometimes, when I’m out on the land it feels as though I might just melt into the mountain or the river, that there is no bigger blessing in this life than just to know I am part of it all.

    I am so glad to hear that your Washington transition is going swimmingly. And oh! That event you’re selling at…. Wow! Looks like a good ‘ol time. Have a blast. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Thank you sweet woman, I thought you might resonate with those words. It is a good connection to have with this beautiful earth of ours. I am loving be back here, and can’t wait to tell you all about this weekend! XX

  2. Yay!
    I’m excited for your for the art show! Just go, be your beautiful, lovable self, and all will be well.

Leave a Reply

