Leather Thursday

Leather Braid Conchos

Antler and Turquoise

IMG_3247 IMG_3248 IMG_3257 IMG_3264

Turquoise, hand painted and leather

IMG_3267 IMG_3272 IMG_3278 IMG_3280Making these conchos has a special meaning to me. One summer I was working up in Alaska and was gone for my birthday. I was feeling a little lonely and sullen and out of the blue received a gift from a woman I had just met. She gifted me a pair of Indian braid conchos that she had received from a native woman one summer when she was working in Alaska alone. She told me the story of the beautiful native woman who gave them to her and the special meaning behind hair adornments.

These, I made for you. I made them to tie your hair back as you run through the forest. To adorn your braids as you climb in the mountains. To feel a little extra special as you journey through your path in life. Slip them on in the morning and rest them on your bed side table in the evening. Take them with you as you adventure on the land.

Cowgirl Clutch: Buffalo Woman

IMG_3235 IMG_3237 IMG_3238

IMG_3231It feels good to get back in the swing of things.  Hope you are all well and looking forward to the nearing weekend!

XX

2 thoughts on “Leather Thursday

Leave a Reply

